As a student of ETEC 642: Facilitating E-Learning Communities through the College of Education, University of Hawaii, Manoa, I have three take-aways for the course as a final reflection of the experience.  These include the following:

  1. Favorite Assignment
  2. Most Useful Exercise
  3. Best Food for Thought

imagesFavorite Assignment: By far my favorite assignment was the Collaborative Video Project.  I’ve done numerous online team projects in this masters program and even in my undergraduate studies.  I’ve learned what works for me and what doesn’t work.  Slowing down and working through the material as a team is the best team approach.  Because we were working with people from Japan and they were communicating in a second language, we had to take time to communicate clearly.  The people we worked with in Japan spoke English and had experience with the project from a previous year.  They were also fun and wanted to make the video to be funny.  The people from Hawaii came with skills that helped the project along whether with Google Hangouts, Google Docs, the application LINE, or video editing.  I was very happy with the process of creating the video and thought the final project was good.  For me, I was also very happy to work with an ethnically diverse team of people whether Japanese, Hawaiian, or Chinese.  These kinds of opportunities are very important to me and one of the reasons I love Hawaii.

UnknownMost Useful Exercise: The more useful exercise for me was having to set up the Twitter account.  Twitter has been around for awhile now, but I hadn’t set up an account.  I now have an account, I understand how hashtags work, I’m following accounts that interest me, and I’m being followed (probably only the people in this class so far, but it’s a start!).

Screen Shot 2014-12-21 at 4.28.32 PM Best Food for Thought: I really liked Dr. Howard Rheingold’s Network Literacy Part II video lecture where he reviews the end-to-end principle and talks about David Reed and the value of networks.  He began by explaining Sarnoff of RCA and television broadcasting along with the value of broadcast being dependent on the number of receivers.  This would be represented by ‘n’.  When the ethernet was invented a network could be connected with multiple connections such as FAX machines.  The value associated is now ‘n’ squared.  What is really exciting is when humans use the technical architecture of the Internet to form groups with similar interests.  The mathematical equation is shifted and the exponential growth is extreme.  In addition, Reed feels there is a connection between groups forming networks and social capital.  Rheingold likes to define social capital as the “ease of which people can get things done together without going through institutions.”

THANKS DR. BERT AND DAL WONG FOR ALL OF YOUR HELP! WENDY LAROS Wendy Laros

